Farmhand/stablehand

Summervale

Plainland, QLD

Posted 2/13/2019

Work in exchange for food, accommodation, unlimited wifi and maybe some horse riding!

We live in a family home on a 30 acre property with 16 horses, 2 cats and one excitable puppy (oh, and 5 fish). We are looking for two backpackers (preferable that they are travelling together) to come and help us out for a week or so - potential to stay longer for the right people.

The work is very easy going and will include but will not be limited to:

- gardening
- fencing (simple fencing repairs)
- general house cleaning
- whipper snipper (our lawn mower is broken so a mechanic would be a bonus!)
- generally help us keep our property tidy and presentable
- we may ask you to puppy sit for a few hours here and there

There is opportunity to do some grooming and spend time with the horses - however this is not part of the work and is not essential. This is just an added bonus if you are interested. So experience with horses is not required for the work. We may ask you to help us do feeds occasionally - but this is simply throwing hay over a fence or putting down buckets.

The only requirement is that you are happy to be around animals - we have lots of them so this is a must!

Accommodation in house - double bedroom with TV and Telstra box, wardrobes, private bathroom, access to fully equipped kitchen, unlimited wifi. We have a games room with a pool table, heaps of DVD's, Playstation, Wii, Netflix, Stan, board games, Air Hockey etc.

We have no set 'hours' - we will give you a list of things that need to be done that day and expect the list to be complete. Some days will be short others could be long. On the longer days we tend to break it into two sections depending on the weather. If it is hot we will start early do a few hours, break in the afternoon and then start again late afternoon/evening.

Food is included, we will buy food for the week and you can help yourself - some meals we may cook for you. But mostly, it will be a help yourself set up. Any allergies or requirements let us know upon arrival.

We have a laundry room that you can use - but we are on tank water so expect you to respect this and use the facilities sparingly.....same goes for the showers.

We are located in Plainland (40 mins from Brisbane). Greyhounds are available from Brisbane to Plainland. We can pick you up from the bus stop. Or if you have your own transport that is brilliant.

Looking for people to start on the 14th May or around then.

Please note - this is an unpaid position. It is work in exchange for food, accomodation, unlimited wifi, and maybe some horse time. Please also note we do not sign off on second year visas.

We look forward to your applications :)

To view and apply for this job on the web visit:

http://www.iwmjobs.com.au/job/11714809